Nestled on the banks of the majestic River Murray in South Australia, the Renmark Hotel was established as the first British Empire community-owned hotel in 1897.
The Renmark Community Hotel returns its profits to the community by way of donations and sponsorships. The Renmark Hotel is operated by a Board of Management, which is elected by community members, current Board Members are,
Steve Jaensch (Chairperson), Tarik Wolf (Deputy Chairperson), Randell McClure, Michael Bristow, Ann Ryan, Maurice Sarti, Glenys Benda
The historic Renmark Hotel boasts a complete range of services and accommodation. From the comfortable Hotel Rooms to the Riverview Balcony Suites, there is a style of accommodation to suit everybody.
The Renmark Hotel features:
- the Nanya Dining (including an al fresco deck overlooking the Murray River)
- Sports & Entertainment Bar (proudly displaying photographs of local sports heroes)
- Gaming Room and Bar and Lounge
- Beer Garden
- Function rooms suitable for meetings, conferences, celebrations, etc.
- Guest Laundry
- Swimming Pool
- SipnSave’ Bottleshop
- Off street parking
- Lift to first and second floors
The Renmark Hotel is a modern comfortable facility that strives to preserve its Art Deco architecture and heritage listing.
The Chaffey Brothers established the Renmark and Mildura Irrigation Colonies.
The Renmark Hotel was established in 1897 as the first Community Hotel in the British Empire. The first licensee of the Hotel was Jane Meissner.
Donations to the Community from the early 1900s were instrumental in establishing the Renmark town. Donations went to building the Renmark Institute, Renmark Hospital, a fire station, public toilets, caravan park, and to the Council
for road works, paving, parks and gardens. Others to benefit from Hotel donations were the Scouts, Girl Guides, racing club, schools, bands and football club, with donations still being made today to numerous organisations. Over the following years, the Hotel transferred ownership of land along James Avenue and Murray Avenue to the council, for gardens for public use. With the support of the Community and visitors to the district the Renmark Hotel continues to donate its facilities, time and money for the benefit of Renmark, Paringa, Lyrup and Cooltong residents.
Sir Charles Kingsford Smith visited.
During World War II in 1942, the Hotel built an Observation Post on the tower, at the front of the Hotel. This was used as an air-spotters’ post, and had personnel rostered 24 hours a day.
Visit by the Duke and Duchess of Gloucester on 13th September, 1946.
On the 15th November, 1957, the Hotel opened a bar (in what is now ‘The Galaxy Room’) which was the longest bar in the Southern Hemisphere. It was 205 feet or 62.4 metres long, circled the whole room and had 20 taps.
The Hotel bought land on Chino Street, to be used for a Scenic Lookout Tower, which was completed by Rotary in 1961.
The original Nanya Bistro was opened July 10th 1964.
The first Tourist Office for Renmark was set up within the Renmark Hotel in 1969.
The Prince and Princess of Wales, Charles and Diana, visited on 6th April, 1983.
The Renmark Hotel was heritage-listed in 1996.
The Nanya Bistro won the ‘Best Country Bistro’ in 2008 and again in 2010. The name Nanya originates from the last surviving local Aboriginal tribe in this area.
The Museum opened.
There are colourful stories of Harry “Breaker” Morant riding his horse into the bar.
The Hotel has a Museum on the first floor. A recently-curated display of original furniture and memorabilia from the Renmark Hotel, displayed across several rooms. Open 9am-9pm daily on the first floor. Enquire at Reception.